Menu

linkedin-icon.png twitter-icon.png

Wednesday, September 29th, 2021

08:00 AM
Registration and Check-in

(9:00 AM ET | 6:00 AM PT) 

09:00 AM
Opening Remarks

(10:00 AM ET | 7:00 AM PT)

09:15 AM
Reinventing Leadership: Utilizing Vulnerability to Create More Effective Teams Post Pandemic

(10:15 AM ET | 7:15 AM PT) 

In this unprecedented reality, we have witnessed a dramatic restructuring of the social and economic order. Flexible work schedules have become de rigueur, and leaders are holding meetings “in” their homes. This exposure to children, pets, and emotions not normally on display, has made way for more acceptance around vulnerability.

This, in turn, presented us with a unique opportunity to look at our options and evolve as professionals and as humans. What will this mean for DEI initiatives?

While there are many challenges ahead, the pandemic has allowed us to reimagine how we work and the best way to create and lead effective teams.

This panel will explore:

  • Internal and external adjustments that need to be made.
  • Creative methods for creating more effective teams.
  • Creating a sense of community and belonging and the best way to go about it.
  • Leveraging the new normal to create more opportunities to promote DEI.






10:00 AM
Networking Break

(11:00 AM ET | 8:00 AM PT) 

10:15 AM
Lessons Learned from Diverse Leaders: Hope is Not A Strategy for Success

(11:15 AM ET | 8:15 AM PT) 

If those working in leadership embrace diversity, equity, and inclusion as core values, they can have a massive impact on the thinking of the organizations they represent. Focusing the conversation in board rooms and the C-Suite on these initiatives will go a long way in creating more blend and balance! Equal representation at all levels is the goal.

This panel will explore:

  • Challenges & roadblocks faced at different stages of career progression.
  • Overcoming the pressure to “cover” identity and being your authentic self.
  • Sharing advice to help the next generation of leaders advance further in the industry.






11:00 AM
Networking Break

(12:00 PM ET | 9:00 AM PT) 

11:15 AM
Where Passion Meets Purpose: Accelerating ESG Through Diversity in Governance

(12:15 PM ET | 9:15 AM PT) 

ESG initiatives are influenced by the perspectives and values of each organization. Therefore, building a culture of inclusion, integrating metrics, and leading from the top down is vital in order to allow these initiatives to evolve and flourish.

How can companies accelerate efforts to improve their ESG programs? What is the best way to build trust and transparency while also having a clear and consistent code of conduct?

This panel will explore:

  • Implementing ESG practices, specifically through a DEI lens, to create value for the organization.
  • Identifying key ingredients to support more diverse and impactful governance.
  • Establishing metrics to establish credibility and measure progress around diversity and inclusion.
  • Training to encourage industry-wide buy-in










12:00 PM
Networking Break

(1:00 PM ET | 10:00 AM PT) 

12:15 PM
Busting Stereotypes in Leadership: Unpacking Unconscious Bias

(1:15 PM ET | 10:15 AM PT) 

The language of diversity makes people uncomfortable. Words like discrimination, oppression, dominance, subordination, heterosexism, racism, or white privilege often cause negative responses. And, if we can’t talk productively about something, then we can’t do anything about it.

What is the best way to recognize and dissect unconscious biases? How can we talk about it in a productive manner in order to bring about meaningful change?

This panel will explore:

  • Recognizing bias and how it infiltrates and affects the corporate environment.
  • Sharing insights on the best ways to suspend judgment to make better and fully informed decisions.
  • Becoming an Upstander in the workplace and why is it essential.










01:00 PM
Networking Break

(2:00 PM ET | 11:00 AM PT) 

01:15 PM
Building and Scaling a More Direct Leadership Pipeline

(2:15 PM ET | 11:15 AM PT) 

Hiring, developing, and promoting the right leaders is among one of the biggest challenges a company faces. Without proper leadership, corporations will ultimately fail. Therefore, a proper leadership program that incorporates DEI into its strategy, along with succession planning, is essential in order to thrive in our multi-cultural economy.

This panel will explore:

  • The best recruiting practices to attract the right talent.
  • The best practices for developing and retaining that talent.
  • Succession planning.






02:00 PM
Networking Break

(3:00 PM ET | 12:00 PM PT)

02:15 PM
So, You Want to Sit on a Board: Cultivating Sponsors and Gaining Access

(3:15 PM ET | 12:15 PM PT) 

Sponsors can help catapult your career. But, the relationship only works when it’s a mutually beneficial alliance. In order to be successful, these relationships must be carefully cultivated, consistently nurtured, and periodically refreshed.

How important is it to have an influential spokesperson advocate for you? What is the best way to identify a potential sponsor?

This panel will explore:

  • The importance of sponsorship in leadership.
  • Identifying and cultivating potential sponsors.
  • Leveraging these relationships to get a board seat.
  • Sharing advice for future leaders who are considering executive positions.






03:00 PM
Networking Break

(4:00 PM ET | 1:00 PM PT)

03:15 PM
The C-Suite & The Board: Working Together to Create a More Inclusive Culture

(4:15 PM ET | 1:15 PM PT)

Creating a culture in which people feel respected and appreciated requires a higher level of engagement that is taken for granted. A true commitment to diversity means that all members of an organization are genuinely welcome, safe, and free to be themselves in the workplace.

How can senior leadership & executive teams work together to create a more inclusive culture? What is the best way to go about building a forward-looking board?

This panel will explore:

  • Implementing mandates that incorporate diversity, equity, and inclusion.
  • Empowering the board to move forward with these mandates.
  • Best ways to embrace fear around diversifying leadership and the board.












04:00 PM
Closing Remarks and Networking Reception

(5:00 PM ET | 2:00 PM PT)