Menu

linkedin-icon.png twitter-icon.png

Wednesday, November 3rd, 2021

08:00 AM
Registration and Check-In

(9:00 AM ET | 6:00 AM PT)

09:00 AM
Opening Remarks

(10:00 AM ET | 7:00 AM PT)

09:15 AM
A Call to Action: DE&I Training to Erase Unconscious Bias and Microaggressions

(10:15 AM ET | 7:15 AM PT)

DE&I training, if executed correctly, can be an effective method to promote a positive workplace environment where employees can arrive each day committed to being their true selves without fear of bias and microaggressions. This in turn can result in a productive workplace where innovation and contribution can flow easily. Ultimately the company benefits from an increased bottom line and market share. Plain and simple: DE&I is not just the right thing to do, it’s good for business!

This panel will explore:

  • Identifying unconscious biases, non-inclusive behavior, and microaggressions
    • Building awareness and empowerment
    • Creating and implementing an effective DE&I training plan
      • Ensuring your DE&I plan is sustainable
      • Managing ERGs, DE&I Council, and affinity groups










10:00 AM
Networking Break

(11:00 AM ET | 8:00 AM PT) 

10:15 AM
Diversity Metrics and Analytics: A Guide to Measuring Change and Embracing a Positive Workplace Culture

(11:15 AM ET | 8:15 AM PT) 

One way to measure the effectiveness of DE&I programs is through diversity metrics. This powerful analytical tool can open the gates to critically important data and reveal a wealth of information such as gaps and areas needing improvement. Goals can be realigned and targets shifted, based on what the numbers reveal. The key for CHROs and CDOs is to identify which metrics to monitor and how these can be utilized to implement change within the workplace.

This panel will explore:

  • Identifying and tailoring diversity metrics for your company
  • Ensuring the effectiveness of DE&I programs by tracking and measuring progress
  • Updating strategies as data reveals shifts in workplace culture








11:00 AM
Networking Break

(12:00 PM ET | 9:00 AM PT) 

 

11:15 AM
The ROI on DE&I: Making the Business Case for HR’s Investment in Diversity Programs

(12:15 PM ET | 9:15 AM PT) 

It is well known that embracing the core values of DE&I makes good business sense. As a result, seeing a Return on Investment (ROI) on DE&I programs is essential, since it represents a clear justification for the investment an organization makes in DE&I programs.

This panel will explore:

  • Ensuring DE&I programs are effective and align with business strategies
  • Calculating the ROI on DE&I
  • Embedding DE&I initiatives across the organization’s business functions, not just HR
  • Identifying the benefits of DE&I programs
    • More productivity, creativity, collaboration
    • Increased revenue
    • Improved employee engagement
    • Enhanced company reputation
    • Decreased employee turnover rate








12:00 PM
Networking Break

(1:00 PM ET | 10:00 AM PT) 

 

12:15 PM
Diversity Hiring: Leveling the Playing Field for All

(1:15 PM ET | 10:15 AM PT) 

Diversity recruiting is a critically important first step towards building an inclusive workforce. However, due to our unconscious biases, there are many obstacles that stand in the way of a truly equitable process. From reviewing resumes up until the day an official offer is made, the system is usually fraught with challenges.  Companies need to become aware of the obstacles and be proactive in implementing a formal diversity hiring process if they are serious about attracting talent from underrepresented groups.

This panel will explore:

  • Understanding how bias influences all levels of the hiring process
  • Developing initiatives to improve outdated systems
    • Using outside resources such as an executive search firm that focuses on diverse candidates
    • Implementing software tool that are designed to identify and prevent hiring biases
    • Amending job descriptions






01:00 PM
Networking Break

(2:00 PM ET | 11:00 AM PT) 

01:15 PM
Retention and Advancement of Diverse Talent Through Allyship and Mentorship

(2:15 PM ET | 11:15 AM PT) 

Even when companies have invested an incredible amount of time, energy, and resources to secure and hire qualified diverse candidates, startlingly, you won’t easily find a single major corporation that has a formal diversity retention program. A formal retention program is especially important when it comes to diverse employees, because by definition, “they are different.” And this difference makes it harder for them to assimilate as employees. And if new hires become disillusioned when they don’t experience the emphasis on diversity/inclusion that they heard during the hiring process, they will almost immediately begin thinking about their departure. A high diversity turnover rate can cost a large corporation tens of millions of dollars each year, making reducing diversity turnover not just “the right thing to do,” but also a business imperative.

This panel will explore:

  • Using ERGs and affinity groups to improve retention rates
  • Identifying gaps in the advancement of diverse employees
  • The impact of biased performance reviews
  • Understanding how allyship and mentorship can improve retention rates








02:00 PM
Networking Break

(3:00 PM ET | 12:00 PM PT)

02:15 PM
Pay Equity: Closing the Gap

(3:15 PM ET | 12:15 PM PT) 

The facts don’t lie: Women earn less than men. The percentages don’t improve for women of color. Pay equity is a systemic issue and it is imperative for organizations to create an actionable pay equity plan. Such a strategy is an investment that will prove to be beneficial in the long-term as employee satisfaction grows and company reputation improves. Without pay equity as part of the culture, a company’s DE&I program is rendered meaningless and faces the risk of employee disengagement. With “buy in” from senior leadership, critical employee data should be continuously reviewed and the plan revised accordingly. As a new generation of employees enter the workforce, the data indicates that they are demanding clear answers to the pay equity dilemma. Organizations that do not heed the call will find it more and more difficult to attract and retain diverse talent.

This panel will explore:

  • The challenges associated with pay equity for underrepresented groups
  • Assessing pay gaps and ways to remedy the disparity
  • How to effectively communicate your pay equity compensation plan to leadership and to employees










03:00 PM
Networking Break

(4:00 PM ET | 1:00 PM PT)

03:15 PM
The Year of Social Justice Reform - Lessons Learned from CHROs & CDOs

(4:15 PM ET | 1:15 PM PT)

The year of 2020 was a banner year for social justice reform. Companies got the message loud and clear that racial injustice in the workplace will not be tolerated. Stakeholders and consumers are no longer content to stand by waiting for change to occur. Change must happen NOW. This means a true commitment to DE&I initiatives in order to stay relevant in today’s marketplace. Hiring personnel to create immersive DE&I programs was a good first step in moving the needle in the right direction. However, it is just the beginning and there is a lot more work that needs to be done. Hear from CHROs and CDOs who will report from the trenches on what needs to happen in order to get the full support of the C-Suite and the entire organization.

This panel will explore:

  • Challenges and obstacles CHROs and CDOs faced implementing a DE&I program
  • Best practices for creating a sustainable DE&I strategy
    • Developing clear and actionable goals
    • Benchmarking strategies with industry peers
    • Creating long-term solutions for DE&I programs








04:00 PM
Closing Remarks and Networking Reception

(5:00 PM ET | 2:00 PM PT)